Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I tried to keep a blog, and I did okay with it for a whole 2 weeks. Then the semester really got the best of me. Never ever have I worked so much, or learned so much. In the end it will all be worth it, but no exaggeration, I completely shutdown the minute finals ended for weeks. I didn’t turn on the computer for a whole 10 days!

I had a wonderful break at home with my family and friends. I got some much needed R&R, but spend the best part of my time playing with my monster. It takes a bit of energy to keep up with him these days now that he’s running all over the place. This is a picture of him on Christmas morning. Now, this thing blows air and balls pop out of it. What you can’t see in the picture, is the balls whamming him in the face repeatedly. Like I said, he’s a monster!

Now I’m back in Boston with the frigid cold and snow. Being from upstate NY, snow and cold don’t bother me, but they are an annoyance. I by no means enjoy this weather and it is making me want to research speech pathology in Jamaica.

You can bet your bottom dollar that I will be trekking to the gym before 7AM tomorrow, even if the windchill is -17. I’m a tough cookie. I also like to eat a lot of cookies and anything else that has sugar in it, which is why the gym is a must. The semester will probably turn crazy, but I really what to get in better shape and eat healthier.

I can’t promise that I’ll take lots of food pictures, mostly because I eat the same thing 5 times a week and it’s not very exciting. But I will attempt. I don’t use cookbooks or recipes, but I do get creative every once in a while. The main reason I don’t use any other recipes is laziness. I see things, they look good, but I never have all the ingredients, nor do I feel like buying them. Maybe if I had a real job and had time to enjoy food…but now I’m just making excuses.

Regardless, I’m going to try to cook beyond the traditional 5 things I usually eat in rotation. Maybe I should just start buying different ingredients and seeing what I can throw together. I really love grocery shopping and I can definitely be less boring in that area. The key is to stay around the outer edges and get the healthy, non-processed food. I always have been and always will be a snacker. I will scrounge the kitchen for something, even if I ate a meal 20 minutes before. I have extreme self-control when it comes to portion control of the junk. I am the one that eats half the cookie, and saves the other half for the next time I walk by. I’m trying not to bring any of that stuff into the house (except ice cream – that’s a lifeline) because I of course eat it whenever I see it at school or work or anywhere..

I used to think that giving up snacking would make be a better/happier person. To a degree I could definitely decrease the walking across the apartment to pick up a pretzel every time I don’t want to continue doing something else. But the fact is, I love snacking, and I won’t give it up. If I can increase the snacking on healthy options (raisins, nuts, healthy cereals) and decrease the size of the subsequent meals, I can keep my metabolism and my cravings in check.

Resolution: moderate snacking by not snacking on junk food, and decreasing the size of my meals in proportion to how much I snacked beforehand. Only snack when actually hungry.

So, I’m not a big fan of New Year’s resolutions, but I do think there is something to be said for making a plan and sticking to it day in and day out. I got a lot of inspiration from Gretchen Rubin’s book The Happiness Project. She developed a theme for each month and then small, manageable resolutions to work toward a happier self. Yes, she was happy to start with an so am I; there’s a lot to be said about being the happiest version of yourself.

I’m not organized enough (I could be, but am not sure it’s a priority at the moment) to develop this kind of plan…but I think I will mark down some resolutions that can make me happier when they come up. The key to this is to have a plan as to how to make the change. Ideas without plans aren’t nearly as succesful. Interesting how this blog has very little of a plan. We’ll see…

Until next time, stay warm!

