Tags

, , , ,

It was SO warm yesterday! I even got to open the windows in the living room. It made me a very happy girl. 🙂 It was equally as warm this morning, but very windy – not conducive to a spontaneous run. It’s okay, I’m planning on 2.5 miles tomorrow on the treadmill. The temperature has since dropped 30 degrees, but at least it’s not snowing!

Yesterday I went grocery shopping. I was so proud of myself for all this healthy food! So many fresh (and a few frozen) fruits and veggies.

I’ve been trying to buy different items lately for a few reasons. 1) It’s easy to buy the same thing week after week, but it gets boring when those weeks turn into months and years. 2) I want to move even further away from anything processed and buy fresh.

I’m not an organic girl by any means. It’s a personal opinion, but I am perfectly content with any sort of produce that hasn’t been processed/preserved. I like knowing exactly what is going into my meal. Sometimes prepackaged dinners look yummy and I know there are healthy options out there, but it’s not something I’m into, right now at least.

I do have a shopping strategy though! I start at either end of the grocery store and walk all the way around the edges, avoiding any aisles. This way I hit up the produce, deli, meat, dairy and bread before I set eyes on anything in a box. By the time I get to the aisles I have usually spent a lot of time mentally planning meals around my fresh goods so I know exactly what I need from the aisles and am less tempted to toss in random snacks in fear that I don’t have enough food.

This was tonight’s creation!I chopped tofu, a red pepper, and tossed some leftover frozen mixed veggies into the pan. I added some light seasame Asian dressing for flavor and voila. I poured this over some spaghetti from the fridge and had a delicious dinner!

Cooking really is pretty fun! Now only if I had people to cook for…any takers?

Do you have any shopping strategies? What are your favorite things to buy at the grocery store?

