Tags

, , , , ,

Yesterday it was absolutely beautiful outside. So beautiful that I thought ahead in the morning to bring my laptop so I could work at the cafe near the school I work at. I actually did work too! One presentation down…a million other things to go. πŸ˜›

I got this crepe while I was there also:

I’ve been craving a crepe lately and this chicken, broccoli and pepper jack crepe hit the spot. The chicken was a little spicy, but overall it was a win.

I forgot to mention I had my first trip to the BU Pub this week! You have to be 21 AND a member of the BU community (or a guest of a member) to enter and I just never made it there. It was a cool space but the food wasn’t great and the service was far from desirable. You go up and place your order then you get a pager. Mine came pretty quickly but Sarah’s took about 30 minutes…for a sandwich! She barely had time to eat by the time it was ready.

I had a vegetarian sandwich with mozzarella, tomato and arugula. The mozzarella wasn’t great and I’m pretty sure they gave me the wrong bread. I don’t think I’ll be back there, for food at least. I hear good things about their beer selection but I didn’t think a drink before 8 hours of class was a good idea.

Before I made it to CafeNation this afternoon I got my hair cut! I’ve been putting it off for a long time because I wanted to wait until closer to graduation but I just couldn’t take it anymore. I had her cut about 4 inches off and this is the shortest I’ve had it since high school. I like it. I’m also a fan of all the time I will save trying to do something with it in the morning. πŸ™‚

Look at all that hair on the floor!

I did make it to the gym yesterday for a little while. I did about 15 minutes of the arm bike and then some random strength training that I hadn’t fit in this week. I also tried to work my quads some. I researched my knee pain the other night and found out that this “runner’s knee” is pretty common from increasing mileage too quickly and can be a result of a combination of strong hamstrings, weak quads and bad sneakers.

It’s funny, I was very careful not to increase my long runs by more than 15% a week and my weekly mileage by about the same. What I didn’t realize is that I went from running 3-4 miles a week to 10-12 in just a few weeks. Not only that, but I was running everyday at least a mile to the gym. I think I need to nix the running to the gym and take some more running free cross train days to let my muscles and joints recover…for now at least.

I’m definitely a little disappointed because I was just beginning to overcome the mental battle of running and now I want to run, but I know it’s not in my best interest to push myself to pain. I have plenty of time to slow down a bit and I need to listen my body..it knows what it’s talking about.

Did anyone watch the Royal Wedding this morning? (I realize most of the word did, but I only saw it because I was at the gym trying to figure out why people were intently staring at the TV and not working out…)

Happy weekend!

