Tags

, , , , ,

This is what my blog readership has come to. Not that it ever was anything to do jumping jacks for…but seriously, a good day = one hit? Okay, so I’m pretty much the only one to blame considering I stopped blogging.

I’m not sure if I got buried in finals, busy with moving home, bored with blogging, or just plain lazy. Anyway I look at it I wasn’t blogging but now things are going to be different on a few counts.

Over the past few months I have graduated with my bachelors degree, moved home to NY for the summer, gotten injured and stopped training for my half, worked a slew of summer jobs, and done some things I’m less than proud of.

I love being home and being able to spend lots of time with my friends and family, but I’m just not used to having so little on my plate. I know that it’s summer, my last summer before I enter the real world and that I’m entitled to some rest and relaxation but somehow that just doesn’t sink in too well most days.

After my knee pain began to increase and affect my daily life I decided it was time to see what was really up. I headed to the doctor in hopes of some solution but my x-ray came back clean, I was diagnosed with patellar tendonitis and runner’s knee but I was cleared to run. I took it easy for a while and things started to feel better so I started back up my training plan. Then the pain got worse AND it started lasting all day. It was a tough decision but I decided it wasn’t worth it to run through the pain and risk doing serious damage.

I’ve still been going to the gym on a semi-regular basis but without a training plan or a regular work schedule I’ve been lacking any sort of order in my life. I am not a girl who lives well without order.

Luckily, I’m working in Syracuse City Schools all month, which means Monday through Friday I am out the door by 7AM and have something to do for most of the day. Bonus – the gym is on the way home which makes it much harder to avoid.

Despite my love of home, summer and all things Corban (in case you don’t know he’s the little monster below) I haven’t had a great attitude in general lately. I could find a dozen reasons I’m sure but enough of the excuses. I’ve been cranky and carrying around a bad attitude for far too long. It’s affecting me and everyone around me.

At the end of the day, I’m the one who has to live with myself and I’m having a hard time with that right now. So it’s time to pull it together, find the good of each day and become the strong, independent person I know I can be.

I read that insanity can be defined as repeating the same behavior over and over and expecting a different outcome. It’s time to stop the insanity and find a solution based plan and stick to it. I think I’m ready!

Do you have a bad habit you just can’t seem to break?

