Tags

, , , ,

So I guess Crossfit wasn’t that bad yesterday considering I went back today. SO glad I did. I left with such mixed feelings last night, but the energy was completely different tonight. There was a different coach and she was very sweet (in the way that a person pushing you to your limits can be) and helpful. She asked me if I had any injuries and my current activity level. Last night I got the impression that my coach believed that injuries are BS and in your head. I can respect other people’s opinions, but it wasn’t the best first impression.

Also, there were several other newbies tonight and I didn’t feel completely incompetent. Overall, tonight was a way better experience! I think I am falling in love already! Even if I got on the floor with my preschoolers this morning and wasn’t sure I was going to get back up. 🙂

On a somewhat similar note, I became obsessed with Crossfit by reading blogs (CarrotsnCake, MealsandMiles, HealthyAshley to name a few), so I had a pretty good idea what I was getting myself into. I also have read quite a bit about the paleo diet, endorsed by Crossfit. My opinion may change someday, but I am of the firm belief that there is absolutely NOTHING wrong with a well-balanced diet that includes a lot of healthy foods and a little bit of everything else.

I know that I need to work on the quantity of the ‘everything else’ in my diet…and someday I will. Or maybe I won’t. I would like to reduce the amount of sugar and processed food that I eat, but I have learned a very important lesson through experience: You cannot change for good unless you WANT the change. And I don’t want to give up the extra sugar right now.

I do have a pretty cool 2013 resolution to buy one new food from the grocery store a week. It’s helping me try new healthy foods and slowly transition my diet, because I am definitely not an all or nothing kinda girl. 🙂

Would you rather overhaul your whole diet or change one food at a time? What has worked for you?

