Tags

, , , , , , ,

That’s all that’s left, just a mere 90 days left of my adventure in Southern California. Then it’s back to the snowy land of Central New York. Well…hopefully, there will not be snow in June!

snow 3

It’s bittersweet. I am very excited to go home and be closer to friends and family, but I am also very sad to leave my life in SoCal. For instance, today, I went whale watching. And saw two whales! How cool is that?

P1030640P1030646

Sorry for the lackluster pictures, the whales are faster than my camera. 🙂

Before I headed off shore, I snapped a few pictures of myself for before/after purposes. Let’s just say I don’t even want to post them for the world to see unless there is a much better after picture right next to it…

Now, I know that I am in decent shape and eat relatively healthy. But as I have mentioned before, I am guilty of grabbing a handful of whatever I walk by. But it’s even worse than that. If I have nothing sweet in the house pre-made, I will throw some flour, butter, sugar, and PB together to make some impromptu cookie dough. This happens more than I care to admit.

Looking at those pictures today, realizing that I have 90 days left, made me realize how much I WANT to change. I don’t want to give up sweets all together. I want to eliminate unhealthy, unneeded snacking, and save the treats for special occasions. At the very least, I want my indulgences to be pre-thought and planned, rather than mindless. I’m not giving up the ice cream in the freezer just yet; I’m just going to seriously control that and any other sugary snacking I do.

I want to make this a permanent change. Less processed crap, less sugar. More home-made foods, more wholesome ingredients.

In other news…you must make these black bean burgers. Just do it! SO GOOD. And they were so much easier to make than I thought!

http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipe/homemade-black-bean-burgers

Cheers to a week of healthy eats!

How do you motivate yourself to eat healthy?

