Tags

, , , ,

My original plan was to wake up bright and early on Friday morning to head down the coast for a long, scenic drive. However, I was sleepy and bright and early turned into 8:30. I ended up getting on the road around 9:30.

The first part of the drive was okay, but I was feeling a little sleepy (not good). I saw some signs for the Santa Cruz boardwalk and decided that would be a good place to stop and get some coffee.

P1030920

I’m so glad I stopped! What a cute little beach town. This would be a great place to bring kids for a family fun vacation.

I got back on the road, but it wasn’t long before I came across a sign “Oranges: 7 Pounds for $1”. I had heard about insanely cheap produce on the PCH (Pacific Coast Highway) and I was headed home and needing groceries…

I left with just over $14 of produce. That $14 included: a giant bag of apples, 10 oranges, 8 avocadoes, 2 onions, carrots, broccoli, 2 orange peppers, 2 green peppers, 3 giant sweet potatoes, a bunch of bananas, 6 vine tomatoes, and probably more that I’m forgetting. Holy cow!

P1030934

Mid-afternoon, I made it to Big Sur…the highlight of the scenic drive. Unfortunately, there was all this coastal fog, so the views weren’t as amazing as I was hoping for the majority of the drive.

P1030942 IMG_0913 IMG_0915

However, the aforementioned fog, allowed me to get these amazing photos. Totally worth the foggy day!

My next pit-stop was at San Simeon, the home of Hearst Castle. Sadly, it was so foggy I couldn’t see the castle, but the Visitor’s Center was quite extensive. Also, I learned that the zebra that I thought was wild, is actually left-over from the private zoo on the castle’s property! But the zoo isn’t there anymore, so it’s still technically wild right?

P1030960

I also saw these babies.

P1030963

Elephant seals. Who knew? They spend most of the year in the water, but come ashore twice a year to shed and to mate. Pretty cool.

I stopped once more in Santa Barbara to get some Mexican cuisine   Chipotle. I made it home around 10PM, ready to crash. And crash I did.

Overall, an amazing road trip. I’m so glad I took the leap and went by myself!

