Tags

, , , ,

Note: This is a post about workouts that happened last week. I’m a little behind…but whatever, I’m still here.

IMG_0937

The Bad:

Last Tuesday I had a totally sucky not very great workout. Actually, it pretty much had nothing to do with the workout itself and everything to do with my attitude. The WOD looked like this.
21 Squat Cleans
12 Pull-ups
15 Squat Cleans
15 Pull-ups
9 Squat Cleans
15 Pull-ups

The squat cleans were going well…for a while. But people, that was a lot of freaking squat cleans! And I had just gone up in weights recently to a whole 60#. (I know that’s not really a lot, but trust me. I was exhausted.)

I had about 2 squat cleans left and this woman (who is an amazing crossfitter and going to her third games this summer) comes over to correct my form. Umm…yeah my form looked A LOT better 40 reps ago. The killer was that after I finished the WOD, she wanted me to do more to correct my form. I was like…ummm?!? I was very gracious to her for the advice, because she was trying to be helpful, but I barely made it to the car before I lost it.

IMG_0939(This is a post WOD picture…watching Jimmy dominate 13.5)

The Good:

Saturday morning I showed up ready to get my sweat on. When I saw the WOD, I laughed and figured that it wouldn’t be so bad because I figured I couldn’t finish it, even with a 30 minute cutoff. (That’s crazy long for a WOD!)

The WOD:
Cash In: 30 Toes to Bar
3 Rounds of:
      400m run
      30 wall balls
      30 box jumps
Cash Out: 30 Toes to Bar

This was my first workout using the 20 inch box. I wasn’t sure that I was going to be able to do 90 freaking box jumps, but I was damn well going to try.

At some point I decided I wanted to finish all three rounds, but I was pretty sure that was going to be it for me. Well, I was WRONG. In the best way possible! I finished the whole workout at 30:00 on the dot!!!

Everyone else in the gym (who had long finished) was cheering me on, clapping and telling me I could do it. And I did. And I am SO PROUD!

There it is. The good and the bad. I get frustrated when I can’t lift as much as other people, when I have to modify an exercise, when it takes me longer than everyone else to finish. But I have to remember that everyone starts somewhere. It’s not fair to compare myself to the girl who has been crossfitting for 18 months when I’ve only been there for two. Anyway I look at it, I am getting stronger everyday and I feel f-a-n-t-a-s-t-i-c!

