Tags

, , ,


Image Source (also a source of 30 awesomely delicious green smoothie recipes!)

I have made approximately 5 green smoothies in my life. I am in love with the smoothie trend. I have successfully made many a fruit smoothies, but the green smoothie has always eluded me.

The secret is probably not a secret at all, and I’m just a bit on the slow side…but nobody ever told me, so I figure I better tell you all. Winking smile

I don’t even know what I was doing before. I’m pretty sure that I wasn’t adding enough liquid. Even if I was, I was doing it at the wrong time. I gulped down more than enough non-smooth smoothies for a lifetime. I was trying to blend spinach and other greens without any accompanying liquid.

In case you don’t know what happens…it’s not very good. I mean, sure, the smoothie tastes fine, but I couldn’t really justify calling it a smoothie…

Tonight I had Google tell me the brilliant idea to add a few handfuls of spinach and my milk product at the same time. WOW. What a difference. The spinach wasn’t all chopped and stuck on the sides, and the smoothie is much more drinkable.

I added a banana, orange, two scoops of Greek yogurt and a scoop of PB as well for some staying power. Delicious. Smooth. Amazing.

That, my friends, is the secret to an excellent, nutritious, green smoothie.

 

Are you a green smoothie fan?? What are your favorite ingredients??

