Tags

, , , , ,

HAPPY FREAKING FRIDAY! I am so very tired this morning, but for a good reason. I was up in the middle of the night last night to pick up these lovely people from the airport.

 Rockstar Parents

Yay for a visit from the parents! Welcome to warm and sunny California. (PS: Please don’t remind me how miserable the weather is at home, because I might have to consider my decision to relocate. Just kidding of course!)

Okay, on to the thing  I was actually going to tell you about…

It’s S-P-R-I-N-G! That means it’s planting season. My room is already decked out in spring creatures, so I thought it was time we put some real living stuff in there too.

 IMG_0955

Note: Please pray for my plants! I want them to grow so badly, but I don’t exactly have what you would call a green thumb. In fact, I’m notorious for killing most things.

However, this was a great therapy activity that led to many excellent discussions.

IMG_0956I started each lesson by exploring The Tiny Seed, by Eric Carle. I ❤ Eric Carle! I am going on my third consecutive week of Eric Carle lesson and I never get tired of them! It’s kind of a lengthy book, so we didn’t actually read it.

What we did do was:
-Talk about the plant cycle
– Talk about where plants can grow
-Talk about what a plant needs to grow

Next up: we completed a simple plant sequencing activity. This task was a bit hard for some of my younger kiddos but we talked about it together before actually planting.

Then came the fun part! Every student was able to put some soil in a cup, and plant a few marigold seeds. They loved it!

We planted last week, and already about half of the plants have sprouted. The kids are so excited and ask me everyday if their plants are growing. I think it’s been a hit so far!

IMG_0317Finally, in some groups we had a bit of extra time. I’m very lucky to have this beautiful garden right outside the door of my speech room. So we walked around the garden finding seeds, flowers, and different plants.

 

 

Overall, a very cool and functional week of lessons!

Do you have a green thumb? Have you ever planted with your class?

