Tags

, , , , , ,

I swear I meant to put this post up like 3 weeks ago when I actually did the activity but…life happens. Besides, this is one that is fun for any time of the year!

Without further adieu…

IMG_0975

I think that the concept is probably pretty self-explanatory here. You give the kids a large dollop of shaving cream and let them make a mess. In attempts to minimize the mess, I put taped wax paper to the table and put the shaving cream on that. However, the wax paper would sometimes rip and then the kids discovered it was more fun on the table….

IMG_1022

I’m not a SLP who likes to make a mess just for kicks, nor do I think that many people would approve of “playing with shaving cream” by itself as therapy.

Here’s how I weaved it into a lesson:

I had a variety of books about weather and clouds from the library. Depending on the skills of the group, I would see if they could determine what the books had in common or just introduce that we were going to learn about clouds.

I had the kids go outside and see if there were any clouds in the sky. Then we would flip through one of the more scientific book and talk about storm clouds. Some kids were interested in the details and we spent a fair amount of time talking about tornadoes, thunderstorms, and the science behind clouds.

My younger kids were more excited to look at the “fluffy clouds” {what – it’s not like I’m the science teacher!}. We read The Little Cloud by the best kid’s author alive Eric Carle. In this book the cloud becomes many different shapes/animals/objects before it makes rain.

Then, came the real fun. I told them we were going to make our own clouds. They had to guess what we were going to use. Some of the guesses: paper, glue, cotton balls, wax paper, toothpaste. Oh, kids!

Depending on the kids’ goals and age, they had to make their favorite animal/food/letter/etc., write words that started with their sound, use a targeted sentence structure/grammatical form each time they made something {i.e. “I made a boat” – targeting irregular past tense}.

Overall, it was a blast. The kids loved it and so did I!

 

What would you use to make clouds?

