Tags

, ,

 

A wine tour has been on my bucket list since I turned 21, and certainly since I moved to California. With Sarah in town and Melissa’s birthday coming up, it seemed like the perfect reason to celebrate good friends and good wine.

IMG_1218

A colleague recommended checking out the wineries near Santa Barbara and Santa Ynez. A quick good search led me to the Santa Barbara Adventure Company.

As soon as I saw that they had a wine and cupcake tour, I was sold. As soon as I got all the girls I board I was ready to hand over my credit card number. But then, there were only 3 spots left for the 4 girls in our group. No good! I called the customer service line hoping they could accommodate us, but not expecting much.

I was pleasantly surprised! The girl on the phone double checked with her boss and then set us all up. It was so easy! Leading up to the tour, the company was great about emailing/calling me to keep me up to date. The tour guide even called to let us know she was on her way.

We had her pick us up at East Beach in Santa Barbara, but they will come to you. Such a nice perk! After picking up some other passengers, including a bachelorette party, we headed to the Santa Ynez Valley, about 50 minutes from Santa Barbara.

At our first winery, Firestone, we were provided with a tour and tasting. The tour guide {from the winery itself} was knowledgeable and friendly. The winery was beautiful, and the wine was delicious {obviously}.

P1040087

It’s a real cork tree! Did you know cork trees have to be shaved {for harvesting} every 9-12 years? I didn’t!P1040088P1040090

S

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So much wine!

Apparently, I enjoyed myself so much at the second winery, Lincourt, to take any photos.

The last winery we visited was in Los Olivos, a super cute little town that is literally FULL of wineries. I don’t know how anyone gets anything done in that place!

We visited Saarloos and Sons tasting room, which also houses Enjoy Cupcakes. Holy amazing-ness. Enjoy has over 485 cupcake recipes, and they make different flavors each week! The chocolate blackberry syrah is their signature cupcake.

P1040094

They were all delicious!

 

 

 

 

 

 

P1040093

Each cupcake was paired with a different wine. I was far too busy enjoying myself to provide you with any details about the wines. All I know is that everything was delicious.

P1040099

I cannot recommend the Santa Barbara Adventure Company enough. We all had an excellent time. Should I find myself in SB again, I definitely want to try out kayaking, parasailing, or surf lessons. Then again, maybe I will have some more wine and cupcakes again!

 P1040095

 

Have you ever been on a wine tour? Yay or nay on wine AND cupcakes together??

