Tags

, , , ,

Here is the actual book review that I teased you with yesterday! If I Stay is the PBF Book Club book of May.

If I Stay

Synopsis: In the blink of an eye everything changes. Seventeen ­year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall what happened afterwards, watching her own damaged body being taken from the wreck. Little by little she struggles to put together the pieces- to figure out what she has lost, what she has left, and the very difficult choice she must make. Heart wrenchingly beautiful, this will change the way you look at life, love, and family. Mia’s story will stay with you for a long, long time.

This book was a definite winner. I was drawn in from the first 20 minutes. {Side note: In the first chapter, the narrator retells the experience of the tragic car accident. If you are listening to an audiobook while driving in bad weather, this is a slightly unnerving experience.}

The story was told from Mia’s point of view. For 99.9% of the novel she has an out of body experience. The story is poignantly written, yet appropriately fits the voice of a 17 year old girl.

As the novel progresses we are treated with anecdotes of Mia’s past, of what she had. Mia also detailed her experiences in the hospital, so that the readers {listeners} could learn was she still had, even after the fatal accident.

I can honestly say I was pleasantly surprised by the ending. I really thought I know what her choice was going to be, but I was wrong! I love when that happens!

You will just have to read for yourself to see what I’m talking about! Winking smile

 

Have you read If I Stay? Thoughts? Opinions?

