Tags

, , , , ,

IMG_0318

I am in awe of the amazing work of the teachers and students at my school!

Yesterday, we had an Open House Walk-Through. I had never heard of this idea before. I’ll admit, when I first saw it on the calendar, I thought it was going to be a waste of time. I could not have been more wrong!

Basically, every teacher on campus opens the door, then leads his/her class around the campus, through every classroom. All of the students’ work is on display throughout the classrooms.

I really wish I brought my camera, because there was so much inspiration going all around!

Some of the things I saw:

– book reports written on t-shirts
– persuasive letters written to the principal
– dozens of dioramas about ecosystems, habitats and cultures
– hand made dolls to represent countries

….and I could go on all day. It was fabulous and inspiring. Not only was there beautiful artwork, these kids do so. much. writing.

The amount of work these children produce is pure awesomeness. But what’s even more amazing, is when I think about what these children come to school with. I work with children who are: homeless, immigrants whose parents don’t speak a word of English, living in chaos, supporting younger siblings, hungry, exhausted, emotionally traumatized, etc.

And our fabulous, incredible teachers make these kids who come to school with more baggage than I can imagine, excited about learning and proud of their work. I am beyond blessed to work with such an incredible team.

