Tags

, , ,

No, not a box like one of these.

I have seen many of boxes and storage containers this weekend. On Saturday, my entire apartment went from looking like this:IMG_1321

To this:

IMG_1322

I figure I am about 80% all-set for this move right now. I just need to pack/toss/consolidate a few more things, but I really can’t do that until the day before we leave. Oh and then there’s the matter of getting in all in the car….

Let’s pretend that doesn’t have to happen okay?

But, what I really want to talk about is my crossfit box. Crossfit Synapse has been a whirlwind of emotions over the past 4 months.

I went from starting out having no clue how to do any lifts/exercises with correct crossfit form, to being frustrated with such a learning curve, to feeling kickass about myself, to upset that I wasn’t pushing hard enough, back to feeling awesome, and so forth.

And today, I had my last WOD at Synapse. {But certainly not my last WOD!!} Allison told me to email her with my favorite stuff and she would make a going away WOD for me. When I got there tonight, this is what I found.

IMG_1326[1]

Never mind the part where the entire WOD I was cursing myself for asking for snatches. It was long and kinda slow, but I made it to the end.  I ‘m pretty sure I owe you guys a post on my strength gains in crossfit over the past few month too. I’ll save that for another day though. 😉

I can’t actually find words for what I want to say right now. I have a feeling that’s going to be a trend for the next week or so.

I have to say a HUGE thank you to Allison and Jimmy for pushing me when I needed to be pushed. I have accomplished things I never imagined I could do. I also have to thank Diana, Toni, Steve, Nick, Claudia, Bonnie, Marie, and a million other people I forgot to name, for being my biggest fans each and every WOD.

Nearly every time that I wanted to give up on a workout, there was someone there to cheer me on and help me push through. It is an incredibly motivating and supportive environment. All of that is mixed with friendly competition. However, the true competition lies within myself.

I learned that so many of my challenges are mental. Like going upside down. Or that damn box jump. {Which, by the way, I need to brag that I jumped on the 24 inch box 84 times on Saturday!} I am so much stronger than I tell myself, and I truly believe I can accomplish anything I set my mind to.

That first rainy, cold night, when I walked into Synapse I had no idea the changes that were about to take place within my body and my mind. All I knew was that there was a no frills coach who was there to kick my ass. That he did, and even though I love to hate him {the feeling is mutual I’m sure}, I am thankful for all he has given me.

I will miss Synapse dearly, but I will most certainly be back someday!

 

Edit: I just remembered that I started blogging again because I wanted to share my love for crossfit! Yet another reason to love Synapse!!

