Tags

, , ,

You may or may not have noticed, I have been a bit absent lately. I feel like I say that all the time. Blogging is always on the to do list, but now that I’m part of 3 and not just 1, blogging falls a lot further down on the list.

I’ve been debating how much I want to write about this subject, and I’m still kind of debating it, but for today, just bear with me?

First off, I love my new home. It seems as if I have been ‘moving’ for about 2.5 months now. I started packing and preparing to leave LA before Memorial Day. Then I spent 1 week in the car, 5 weeks, at my parents, and 1.5 weeks settling into my new home.

It’s not like I haven’t moved before; I’d actually consider myself a semi-professional at this point. I filled 2.5 carts in Walmart in under 2 hours, and managed to get nearly everything on the “apartment necessities” list. {If you ever need one, let me know and I can help you out!}

Things are just a little bit different now though. For instance, the laundry basket fills up 3x faster and groceries don’t last 2 weeks anymore. I am in zero way complaining about this, I love my new home and my new life, but it definitely takes some getting used to.

Other new changes I’m not sure I was expecting: arranging pick-up and drop off of a child, factoring in how long it takes to get you plus a boy, plus a child, showered and out the door, remembering to bring snacks/extra clothes/blankie/toys every time you leave for more than an hour.

Right now the absolute hardest thing I’m struggling with is balance: how much time do we spend as a family of 3? As a couple? With our friends? With separate friends? Alone? I don’t have the answer to that. I doubt I will for quite some time. Like most things in life, it will probably be an ongoing struggle to find balance.

I’m not sure that I’m doing the best job adjusting to all these life changes lately {factor in the new job, the new house, the new family situation, etc.}, but I keep telling myself one day at a time…I’m doing the best I can, and that’s all one can ask, right?

If you were ever in a new step-mother{ish} role, what was the hardest thing to adjust to??

