Tags

, , ,

Happy-Labor-Day1

Holy cow! When did it become Labor Day?! Fun fact: This is the first Labor Day that I have spent in Central NY, since I was a senior in high school. I was at college and usually moving over the Labor Day weekend for a solid 5 years. Last year, I was in LA, but hadn’t started working yet and didn’t really no anyone.

Needless to say, I am pretty pumped to be home and not moving this year! In addition, I am anxiously waiting the arrival of my uncle and his family, which includes a new baby, any minute!

Since September traditionally means new beginnings for me, I think this is an appropriate time to set some new goals. I am super-excited for fall and all things pumpkin, but I am also thrilled to get back into a routine and start living a little more healthy.

1. Eat more fruits & veggies. This summer has not been ideal for healthy eating. Between multiple moves, getting sick, BBQs, and a lot of stress {not an excuse but it is what it is}, I am more than ready to get back on track. Even when I have been cooking lately, I seem to be consuming far too many grains. I am looking forward to apple, squash and pumpkin season…oh the possibilities!

2. Eat more purposefully and mindfully. I have been grazing and snacking like nobody’s business. Partially because I have been home all day and bored, so hopefully going back to work will be an easy fix for this one.

3. Be more flexible. This is HUGE for me. Not flexible as in mastering the pigeon pose {though that would be nice too}, but as in going with the flow more. If you know me in real life you know that I have a type A personality with OCD characteristics. I am used to being in complete control. Living with Zach forces me to compromise and be more flexible. I can’t say I have been doing a great job at this one… The world will not end if we don’t eat the dinner I planned or if we mysteriously don’t get home until 1AM on a Friday night. {Right?}

I’m pretty sure I could list a million more goals, but 3 seems like a feasible number to focus on. I’ll try to check back and let you know how I’m doing!

 

What are your goals for the new {school} year??